Election Notice To The Registered Voters of Montgomery County Sample Ballot For The November 7, 2006 State General and Clarksville City Election

GOVERNOR VOTE FOR ONE (1)

PHIL **BREDESEN Democratic Nominee**

JIM **BRYSON** Republican Nominee

HOWARD M. **SWITZER** Independent Candidate

GEORGE BANKS Independent Candidate

DAVID GATCHELL Independent Candidate

MARIVUANA STOUT LEINOFF Independent Candidate CHARLES E. **SMITH**

Independent Candidate

CARL "TWOFEATHERS" **WHITAKER** Independent Candidate

WRITE-IN

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT #1 VOTE FOR ONE (1)

Shall Article XI of the Constitution of the State of Tennessee be amended by adding the following language as a new, appropriately designated section:

SECTION . The historical institution and legal contract solemnizing the relationship of one man and one woman shall be the only legally recognized marital contract in this state. Any policy or law or judicial interpretation, purporting to define marriage as anything other than the historical institution and legal contract between one man and one woman, is contrary to the public policy of this state and shall be void and unenforceable in Tennessee. If another state or foreign

jurisdiction issues a

Shall Article II, Section 28,

license for persons to marry and if such marriage is prohibited in this state by the provisions of this section, then the marriage shall be void and unenforceable in this state.

YES

NO

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT #2

VOTE FOR ONE (1)

of the Constitution of the State of Tennessee be amended by inserting the following language immediately after the fourth paragraph: By general law, the legislature may authorize the following program of tax relief: (a) The legislative body of any county or municipality may provide by resolution or ordinance that: (1) Any taxpayer who is sixty-five (65) years of age or older and who owns residential property as the taxpayer's principal place of residence shall pay taxes on such property in an amount not to exceed the maximum amount of tax on such property imposed at the time the ordinance or resolution is adopted; (2) Any taxpayer who reaches the age of

time the ordinance or resolution is adopted, who owns residential property as the taxpayer's principal place of residence, shall thereafter pay taxes on such property in an amount not to exceed the maximum amount of tax on such property imposed in the tax year in which such taxpaver reaches age sixty-five (65); and (3) Any taxpayer who is sixty-five (65) years of age or older, who purchases residential property as the taxpayer's principal place of residence after the taxpaver's sixty-fifth birthday, shall pay taxes in an amount not to exceed the maximum amount of tax imposed on such property in the tax year in which such property is purchased.

sixty-five (65) after the

YES

NO

UNITED STATES SENATE VOTE FOR ONE (1)

HAROLD FORD, JR. **Democratic Nominee BOB CORKER** Republican Nominee ED CHOATE

Independent Candidate DAVID GATCHELL

Independent Candidate EMORY "BO" HEYWARD

Independent Candidate

GARY KEPLINGER Independent Candidate

CHRISTOPHER JOSEPH LUGO Independent Candidate

WRITE-IN

UNITED STATES HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 7TH **CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT** Vote For One (1)

BILL MORRISON Democratic Nominee MARSHA BLACKBURN Republican Nominee KATHLEEN A. CULVER

Independent Candidate GAYL G. PRATT Independent Candidate JOHN L. RIMER

Independent Candidate WILLIAM J. SMITH Independent Candidate

JAMES B. "MICKEY" WHITE Independent Candidate

WRITE-IN

UNITED STATES HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 8TH CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT

Vote For One (1)

JOHN TANNER Democratic Nominee JOHN FARMER Republican Nominee

WRITE-IN

TENNESSEE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES **68TH REPRESENTATIVE DISTRICT** Vote For One (1)

TIM BARNES **Democratic Nominee CURTIS JOHNSON** Republican Nominee WRITE-IN

TENNESSEE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES **67TH REPRESENTATIVE DISTRICT** Vote For One (1)

JOE PITTS **Democratic Nominee** KEN TAKASAKI Republican Nominee WRITE-IN

TENNESSEE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 78TH REPRESENTATIVE **DISTRICT Vote For One (1)**

BRUCE GIBBS Democratic Nominee PHILLIP JOHNSON Republican Nominee WRITE-IN

CLARKSVILLE CITY ELECTION

CITY MAYOR

Vote For One (1) MORRELL V. BOYD

GARY CARPENTER

MICHAEL FLOOD

MARK HIEHLE

JON LOCKWOOD

JOHNNY E. PIPER TRAVIS E. RUPE

CHARLES W. SMITH

WILTON SOWELL

RAY STONE

DON TROTTER

WRITE-IN

CITY COUNCIL WARD 1 Vote For One (1)

BARBARA E. JOHNSON

JOHN MCCOTTER LECKRONE

WRITE-IN

CITY COUNCIL WARD 2 Vote For One (1)

DEANNA M. MCLAUGHLIN

ROBERT G. NICHOLS

WRITE-IN

CITY COUNCIL WARD 3 Vote For One (1)

ERNEST BROCKMAN

KEVIN A. GREIDER

JAMES R. LEWIS KEITH A. SVADBA

WRITE-IN

REFERENDUM Vote For One (1)

FOR THE MUNICIPAL **ELECTRIC SYSTEM PROVIDING** ADDITIONAL SERVICES

AGAINST THE MUNICIPAL **ELECTRIC SYSTEM PROVIDING** ADDITIONAL SERVICES

MONTGOMERY

COUNTY ELECTION

COMMISSION

Walter Head, Chairman

RitaWilson, Secretary

Hyburnia Williams

Marjorie Wade

Vickie Koelman,

Administrator of Elections

*District & Ward Offices are elected by

voters living in those specific Districts or Wards

Don Beck

CITY COUNCIL WARD 6 Vote For One (1)

MARC A. HARRIS

WRITE-IN

CITY COUNCIL WARD 7 Vote For One (1)

GENO GRUBBS

MARY NELL WOOTEN

WRITE-IN

CITY COUNCIL WARD 10 Vote For One (1)

AD CALDWELL

BILL SUMMERS

WRITE-IN

CITY COUNCIL

WARD 11 Vote For One (1)

LISA L. DOTSON

WILLIAM FORRESTER

KENNETH SHELTON

MATTHEW SLIGHT

WRITE-IN

The Election Commission does not discriminate on the basis of disability. If there are questions about needed accommodations in the voting process call 648-5707.