ELECTION NOT

A State Primary (Democratic and Republican) and a County General Election is hereby called for Montgomery County, Tennessee for Thursday, August 5, 2010 between the hours of 7:00 am and 7:00 pm at the various precincts to elect the following:

STATE PRIMARY BALLOT

<u>OFFICE</u>	TERM OF OFFICE
Governor	4 years
US House of Representatives (District 7 & 8)	2 years
TN House of Representatives (District 67, 68 & 78)	2 years
State Executive Committeeman (Dem & Rep)	4 years
State Executive Committeewoman (Dem & Rep)	4 vears

COUNTY GENERAL BALLOT

<u>OFFICE</u>	TERM OF OFFICE
County Mayor	4 years
County Commission (All Districts)	4 years
Trustee	4 years
General Sessions & Juvenile Court Judge (Division I-unexpired term remaining 4 years of an 8 year term) *	
Sheriff *	4 years
Circuit Court Clerk	4 years

County Clerk 4 years Register of Deeds 4 years School Board (School Districts 1,3,5,7) * 4 years

TN Supreme Court Judges (Retention) TN Court of Appeals Judges (Retention)

Judicial offices shall be a licensed attorney and shall provide on their nominating petitions their Supreme Court registration number.

Sheriff must have proof of high school diploma or its equivalent in educational training by state board of education, possess a current and valid peace officer certification as issued by the TN POST Commission and shall file all documents with the POST Commission by March 18, 2010, the 14th day before the qualifying deadline for their elected office.

School Board candidates must file proof of high school graduation or proof of GED by the qualifying deadline.

QUALIFYING DEADLINE:

April 1, 2010 at 12:00 NOON

To qualify, candidates shall file their original petition in the county election office where they reside and a certified duplicate petition in any county within their district by the qualifying deadline. The nominating petition must be signed by at least twenty-five (25) voters who are registered in the candidates' district. Each voter who signs the petition must also supply his or her residence address.

WITHDRAWAL DEADLINE:

April 8, 2010 at 12:00 NOON

A candidate's request to withdraw must be in writing and filed with each of the counties with whom the candidate filed their nominating petition.

Petitions are being issued at the county election office during normal office hours listed below. Any person interested in running for office should contact the Montgomery County Election Commission Office for further information.

The last day to register to vote before this election is July 6, 2010.

Pursuant to TCA 2-7-133(i) and TCA 2-8-113(c) notice is hereby given that any person attempting to be elected by write-in ballots or receive a party's nomination by write-in ballots shall complete a notice requesting such person's ballots be counted in each county of the district no later than NOON, fifty (50) days before the election or primary election. Such person shall only have votes counted in counties where such notice was completed and timely filed. Write-in candidates in elections for the offices of Governor, United States Senate and United States House of Representatives shall file their notice with the state coordinator of elections. The notice shall be on a form prescribed by the coordinator of elections and shall not require signatures of any person other than the write-in candidate requesting ballots be counted. The coordinator of elections shall distribute such form to the county election commissions.

Last Day for Write-in candidate to file notice: June 16, 2010 at NOON. Forms are available in the Montgomery County Election Commission Office.

The Election Commission does not discriminate on the basis of disability. If there are questions about needed accommodations in the voting process, call 931-648-5707.

For additional information:

Montgomery County Election Commission Office Montgomery Veterans Plaza 350 Pageant Lane, Suite 404 Clarksville, TN 37040 931-648-5707 www.montgomerycountytn.org/county/election Office hours are Monday thru Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

MONTGOMERY COUNTY ELECTION COMMISSION

Rita Wilson, Chair

Don Beck Charles Boehms Vickie Koelman, Administrator of Elections Hyburnia Williams, Secretary Walter Head

^{*} Additional qualifying papers required as follows: